Quick Links

Quick Links

St Paul's C of E

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



The Governing Body and the role it plays at St. Paul’s Church of England Primary School


On behalf of the governors of St. Paul’s Church of England Primary School, I would like to introduce myself and the governing body as a whole.  Since my appointment as Chair of Governors at St. Paul’s there have been lots of changes and lots happening, all of which has been both exciting and challenging.   The Governing Body has appointed Miss Harrington to the post of Head Teacher, Miss Emmett has been appointed Deputy Head, we have welcomed the Reverend Andy Williams into our school and onto the Governing Body.  In addition we have taken the school through a massive expansion programme as well as being inspected by Ofsted who rated St. Paul’s as a ‘good’ school.  We have much to thank our dedicated staff team for in achieving all this whilst improving children’s standard and quality of education.  Along with the parents and staff the Governing Body has the long term needs of the children at heart

As governors, our goal is to ensure the children in our school are able to achieve to the best of their ability.   We aim to work closely with school staff to offer support and expertise as well as to ask questions and if necessary challenge decisions in the best interest of the school community.  Governors are also welcomed into school on a day-to-day basis.

 The Governing Body operates a policy of Open Governance which means that our Full Governing Body meetings, held termly, are open to members of the school community or other interested parties.  If you are interested in joining a meeting as an observer please contact myself or the head teacher.

Governors come from all walks of life and backgrounds.  As St. Paul’s is a Voluntary Controlled Church of England school three of our governors are appointed by the Diocese and are known as Foundation Governors, we also have parent governors, members of staff, a Local Authority governor and others who represent the community.  In total there are 14 school governors.   The Governing Body was reconstituted on 15 September 2015.  Each governor is a member of either the Resources or the Teaching and Learning Committee.  All members of the governing body take on additional responsibilities throughout the school, for example in safeguarding, health and safety, development, inclusion, and pupil premium.  In addition each governor is linked to a subject leader (the member of staff with responsibility for an area of the curriculum).


The Governing Body comprises:


Mrs. M. Tropez Martin (Chair, Chair of Teaching & Learning and Development Governor) co-opted.

Mrs. Anne Rogowski (Vice Chair and Chair of the Resources Committee) co-opted.

Mrs. Belinda Plant - (Associate member).

Miss J. Harrington (Head Teacher)

Mr. Chris Stonier (Parent Governor) elected.

Mr. David Cattermole – co-opted.

Miss. M. Emmett (Staff Governor) elected.

Mrs. Jennie Goulden (Foundation Governor)

Mr. Simon Goulden (Parent Governor) elected.

Mrs. Rachel Mogg (Foundation Governor)

Councillor Chris Murphy (Local Authority Governor)

Mrs. S. Shore (School Business Manager) co-opted.

Mrs. Katrina Wilkinson-Davies – co-opted

Rev. Andy Williams (Foundation Governor)


Because St. Paul’s is a Voluntary Controlled Church of England School the whole governing body support and nurture the school's well established Christian ethos, whilst at the same time encouraging links with all our stakeholder groups both within and outside our local community. The Voluntary Controlled nature of the school also has an impact upon the school's governing constitution.  All governors are elected and appointed for a four year term of office in the first instance.


We value your comments and your support and we hope that we can continue to serve the school to the very best of our ability.  Should you wish to become a governor and there is a vacancy please contact myself or the head teacher.


I can be contacted through the school office or the Headteacher, Miss Harrington or by emailing


Mrs M Tropez Martin

Chair of Governors




Declaration of Interest
Code of Conduct

Governors Attendance

Declarations of Interest